Remembering…

I went to a “celebration of life” for a friend I had known for 35+ years on Sunday. I have been having a hard time putting things to words after that, my brain wont shut off when I want it to, it’s just rethinking things, moments, past, and sadness for a person who was younger than me passing away (from health related issues). I am not a fan of those types of celebrations because I feel like each person should have a service spoken of them, what kind of person that they were, their family, their jobs, hobbies, friends…those type of services promote people to tell stories and share wonderful memories of the person. This one had a lot of people sitting around watching a slide show, eating food, having some cocktails and a few high school friends reminiscing about the good old days. Then her brother spoke for a little while, trying to encourage people to get up and speak. No one felt comfortable enough to do that, not even me. I am usually the person that would get up there and tell a funny story or share a special moment, but I just didn’t feel comfortable enough to do that. Their wasnt a single person that met her that didn’t love her.

This was one of my favorite pictures of her, which she did not too long after we graduated high school:

10460255_10206668964425524_4229259403921844239_n

They ended the celebration with the releasing of the doves which I found to be the most touching moment in the celebration. The first dove was released (which symbolized her passing) and that she was free now, then the rest were released and she joined the rest in their journey home. It was an extremely beautiful ending to the celebration. May she rest in peace!

Please remember to take the time to tell your loved ones how much they mean to you “daily”. Life is entirely too short and you never know how long you have on this earth. Live each day as if it were your last….

IMG_2846

Leave a Reply

