When your budget turns to broke

I started this blog wanting to share all of my personal experiences that I have gone through. To be honest, I have started from the bottom up, hit the top, been back down to the bottom again, hit the top again, been down to the bottom again.

Life has a way of throwing you curve balls in the middle of your life game. The last time I was hit with the life curve, I lost my job and my house during the start of the depression in 2008. I got a couple of new jobs, we moved into an apartment and I thought that life was going to be ok. I was downsized from both of my jobs. I was put on unemployment, which really wasn’t much. The bills started to pile up-here is when the budget turns to broke and I had to learn a few things:

  • Depression after a job loss is common. I just didn’t know how am I was going to pay all these bills. I ended up putting them all in priority of which ones we needed to survive. The rest, I had to disconnect anything extra. It was a pretty hard time and I felt a bit depressed. I am not going to lie and say that I didn’t go through this because it happened and I had to sit myself down, allow myself to be a little depressed. Then pick myself up and plunge forward, not just for myself, but for my family. We had to survive and we had to move forward. These are all life learning lessons that I had to learn and the things I learned helped me to be who I am today and to know that no matter what, I can and will survive.
  • Learn to use all resources that are available to people. When I say resources, I mean all that is available from local counties, communities and churches. After paying the electricity, there was not much money for food. That is where the local food bank came into our lives. We were allowed to go a certain number of times a month and it saved our lives. They also helped us apply for a local food program for help. I didn’t make much money so we qualified for food stamps which put food in our house, and I didn’t have to go back to the food bank. The food bank definitely was a life saver for us and helped us get through that really tough time in our life.
  • Learn new skills that will help you get a new job. I took a lot of online classes during that time at the local library. You can sign up for free classes and all you need is a library card. They also have a lot of free entertainment for your family as well. They have kids programs, movies, books & music to check out.
  • I went through my entire house and started a huge pile of things that we would not miss if I got rid of them. My best friend sold them for me on Ebay. This was all items that we had around the house and were not using them. Every little bit helped and the money I made from my used items, was used to pay ahead my rent so that I could get my budget put in place. It was a life saver to our family to know that we still had a roof over our heads during that time. This was when I learned how to sell on Ebay. This became extremely useful for me after my unemployment ran out and I had no income whatsoever!
  • This all lead to where I started to use coupons when shopping. I had to save as much money as I possibly could in order for our family to survive so I would get the old papers & magazines from the library and cut coupons for my shopping trips. I asked my neighbors to save their old magazines for me as well. The food stamps paid for food but not the basic necessities that you need to live, like toilet paper, shampoo, toothpaste, and laundry soap. The coupons really helped me putting these items in the house when we were struggling.

1392557465881428

Please know that everything happens for a reason. I truly believe that everything that happens in this life is to teach us things and help us become a better person for the better stuff that will happen to us. If things are looking rough for you right now, please know that there are resources available to help you.

I am not in that same place I was a few years ago. I have a new job and my life is a lot different now than it was not that long ago-amazing what can change in 2 years but me getting the new job was the start. It was the better stuff that was waiting for me. I am still budgeting and still using my coupons, I am always trying to find ways to save money.  I do not take anything for granted anymore. I appreciate the all mighty dollar and know how hard it is to come by and to work for.

I-believe-that

 

Leave a Reply

